Point me in the right direction please!

where's my cow?

School Idol
Hey all! I'm pretty new to Anime and Manga so, having just broken away from mainstream culture, I'm feeling pretty lost and alone at the moment... I know there's a load of good stuff out there, but I reckon (like with everything else) there'd be just as much bad stuff and I'm afraid to dive straight in and have a bad experience early on.

So far, my anime game is weak (to quote Tim Westwood, who I'll keep my REAL opinion of to myself or I'll be banned before I start!!!) I love the classics: Final Fantasy, Dragonball and all things Japanese but I can't help feeling there's so much more!

What was your first experience of Anime? What, if you draw the stuff (like I'm learning to) inspired you to start? Can you give any advice on drawing technique? What would you say would be the best place to start? I'm a pretty open guy, so I won't dismiss anything that others might think of as too confusing.

I'd love to hear from people, and it'd be great to make some friends while I'm here as well. Cheers one and all! :p

Hi Simon. Welcome to the forums!

I'd love to recommend you take a look at a few titles but I'm not sure about your tastes. I'll assume for now that you just like a good yarn? Take a look at buying this bargain boxset: http://www.theworks-art-books-music.com ... xProd=1512

It contains the first four episodes of 10 anime series, many of which are great examples of their genre. You can't go wrong with Gungrave (Mafia action, drama), Haibane Renmei (Artistically beautiful, heart wrenching drama) and Paranoia Agent (Psychological twister).

Welcome to the forums :). I agree with Paul that all newbies to anime should check that boxset out as soon as possible, I too have still to see a few of those aswell ;)

Cool, thanks! :D (And cheers for the link, very usefully! It's been ordered!)